Skip navigation

My husband, Lloyd has a Road King Custom Harley Davidson! I have leathers, a couple of jackets, and numerous Harley garments and Boots! I love my Harley boots – they are definitely made for WALKING! I even, on occasion, ride pillion (on the back of the Harley whilst my husband does the actual riding). I insist, however, on the sissy bar being in place. What is a sissy bar you may ask? It is the backrest that is put on the rear seat of the bike when a passenger like “myself” is present. I will not ride without the sissy bar in place! I am a sissy! Sissy bars are for sissy’s!

For me it is very scary to ride on a bike! You see the road go by so very fast and you are not in control at all! In fact far, far, far, from it! (I have control issues!). In the biker world it seems to be all about the biker. There is even a T-shirt that says:  “if you can read this the bitch fell off!”

Do I ride? Not often! Why? I just can’t integrate the image! I tried I really did. I put on those leathers – once or twice… They seem to be shrinking! I even thought they might fit better if I got into water with them on! They say water helps them meld to your body. I got into the swimming pool – that was apparently the wrong thing to do…I was told……because apparently pool chemicals in the water are not good for the leather! Well, at least I tried!

Once I actually got them on only to find that I could not lift my leg high enough to swing it over and get on to the bike! They are like I would imagine wearing a straight jacket is but on your legs so you can’t move! I have tried this “biker chick” thing I really have. I just can’t assimilate the image or integrate a “biker chick” persona! It is NOT me! Sorry! No can do!

I did think that those leathers may look good in a frame on the wall. You know one of those glass-on-glass ones. A tall thin one –  frame that is! Not sure what to do with them? Now that I have tried them on so often….AND they are still shrinking – I am quite attached to them so they hang in my cupboard and I bring them out now and again to show people what I could be! The leathers –they were very expensive you know! They are just not me!

No one is really forcing me to be this biker chick person but I thought I would try because my husband has a Harley-Davidson and it would be so nice to cuddle up behind him on the bike and go for rides. Now you know that when you do get on a bike there is no cuddling. If you put your arms around his waist and lean in your helmet hits against his and it is a bit like head butting very hard things and feeling no pain – not pleasant at all!

I am NOT addicted to the adrenalin of defying death and I do NOT enjoy near death experiences! In those leathers I personally cannot live or move or have MY being! I keep my leathers to remind me that I can only be me!

I can only be true to the image I hold of myself! If I try to be what I am not I feel out of kilter and incongruent! It just does NOT fit! I can only be my true authentic self! Free forever to be me! Yay!

One Comment

  1. … it sure is lonesome in the saddle since my horse died! 🙂
    … but the leathers were cool, you must admit? …. Hey? … Hey? …. Hey?


Leave a comment